Commission on Aging


The Commission on Aging consists of 7 members elected to 3-year terms (3 from age group served; 3 at large; and 1 from the S.M.I.L.E.R.S. organization). The Commission meets the second Tuesday in Jan., March, May, July, Sept., Nov. at 2:00 P.M. the Town Office Building, 2nd floor Courtroom.


  • Determining and evaluating the needs of the older people of Sprague.
  • Seeking ways to avoid unnecessary duplication of services by public and private organizations.
  • Establishing priorities according to the most pressing needs of older persons, as determined by the Commission.
  • Promoting programs that provide community-based services necessary to enable frail elderly persons, to the fullest extent possible, to remain in their homes, to continue as integral members of their family and community.
  • Reviewing and approving the state plan for providing services to meet the needs of older persons.
  • Gathering and disseminating information in the field of aging.
  • Conduct hearings, conferences and special studies on the problems of older persons and on programs which serve them.
  • Evaluating existing programs for older persons, recommending needed changes in those programs and propose new programs, which would more effectively and economically serve the needs of older persons.
  • Evaluating any proposed legislation which would affect older persons.
  • Recommending to the Legislature any appropriate legislation.
  • Coordinating and assisting the efforts of public and private organizations which serve the needs of the older person.